Flawed

Published November 21, 2011 by The OC

"Nobody's perfect."

The girl with the perfect everything. She has the perfect hair, so silky and smooth. She has the perfect skin, as white as a dove. She has the perfect life. She’s beautiful, sweet, intelligent, she has everything any normal girl would wish for. Yes, it’s all her. And it will never be me.

I am just your average teenage girl. I have the average height, 5’2”. I have the average weight, 47 kg. And I have a slightly above average  shoe size, 8 (according to “500 Days of Summer“). Vital statistics wise? Don’t even bother asking for I will never tell.

I’m 17 years old. I was born in a province turned city. Well, at least I live in a house that’s adequately normal. My family’s not wealthy nor poor, but we get to have what we need. In my years of existence, never did I really get the things I’ve always been wanting. Most probably because we really can’t afford it and I’m just dreaming really BIG. But for all I know, there’s really nothing wrong with that except, I just always get to feel the disappointment of not getting my dreams.

I want to be perfect. I want to be that beautiful girl who makes heads turn when I’ll pass by. I want  to be that smart, gorgeous woman whom most of the people look up to. I want to be the girl every man dreams.. or at least, be the girl who someone’s been dreaming of.

Impossible, I know. I can never be like Angelina Jolie, Taylor Swift, the girl on TV, never like them. But based from the lessons I learned from first-hand experiences, it is okay to be just normal. Actually, it might turn up even better.

I may not have the perfect everything, but at least I have everything that I need. God blessed me with what I have and I should just really make the most out of it. I can still be that beautiful person I want to be if I just take care of myself and be conscious with the things I do. I can still be that smart, gorgeous woman if I study really hard and aim for the best. But never can I be perfect. NO ONE CAN EVER BE.

It’s okay to be flawed. Actually being imperfect, you don’t have to live your life by the expectations of people. You can make mistakes and try again without anyone looking at you as if you committed a crime against humanity. You can live your life and just be free.

This is me. I’m still young, learning, and developing. I am not perfect. I certainly made a lot of mistakes (and learned from it). I know I’ll have a lot to offer to this world even if I still have no clue what it is. I am your perfectly flawed young lady. With my chin up, head held high, I say this, never try or even bother become perfect. Stay true to what you are and who you are. Who knows, you might already have the world at your fingertips and you don’t even know it.

5 comments on “Flawed

  • Do you wanna be gorgeous? Use make-up and have your hair dyed in a colour that fits you. Do you wanna be smart? Study and stay between smart people. Do you want money for your dreams? Fight for it. Do you want to be classy? Study the way people dress, use make-up, walk (ppl who your think are perfect)..Everything is possible…You can have it all. Those gorgeous celebrities that you say that are perfect…in the morning, with their hair messed up and no make up…they are far from perfect. Nowadays is not so difficult to look great, moreover when you are so skinny (you have the same weight like me). You are so young…you have plenty of time to learn how to do all these. I wish I had a friend like you to make her look and feel beautiful. I want the same things as you do.

  • Leave a Reply

