Unorthodox

Published December 3, 2011 by The OC

I don’t really know how to start this post though I know what I want to write, I can’t seem to put it into words. I guess it’s because what I’m writing about isn’t just a topic that I randomly thought of while I was eating breakfast this morning. It just really holds a special place inside of me. It’s something or rather someone very important to me. And I just want this post to be as special as the person I am writing about.

Usually, a person would make a list in their mind of his or her ideals towards other people. We have our own standards, our own checklist of what we want to see from others. Most of the time, we end up not really living with the standards we have set either because we had set it too high or just because the people around us can’t just make it on the list. For some weird unknown reason, even if we know that it is quite impossible to find even just one person that will live up to our standards, we still make one. And so I thought, are we making this so-called checklists because we want to be surrounded by the best possible people on Earth? Or is it because we’re just too scared to get hurt that’s why we try to find those people whom we think won’t be able to harm us?

Guilty as I plead, I make my standards too high just because I don’t want to get hurt. I guess that’s why I’m a bit an anti-social and quite distant towards others. But as Bob Marley said, “Truth is, everyone’s gonna hurt you; you just gotta find the ones worth suffering for.” And you know what? He is right. It is impossible to find someone who wouldn’t hurt us. Nobody’s too good. Often times I find myself finding the people who even though they didn’t make the cut, they are still very much worthy to stay in my life. But when it comes to finding the best among the rest, I think it’s just totally not what I’m expecting.

When I was just a little girl, I used to think that when I find the one, that person would totally be the one I have waited for. Little did I know, expectations do get broken but I wasn’t really disappointed. In fact, I wasn’t disappointed at all.

People know me as someone who’s just quiet, not really the type of person who easily makes friends. And if we’re going to go with the tell-me-who-your-friends-are-and-i’ll-tell-you-who-you-are thing, you’re probably expecting that my friends are just like me, most especially my best friend.

You see, if I tell you that my best friend is one of the most frank people you’ve ever known, that she has a tongue as sharp as a knife and with just a few right words, she can kill you, and that she is really good at the things I’m not and that I am just about half her body structure, would you even believe me? I mean, if you don’t really know we’re best friends, I don’t think you’ll even think we are best friends. She’s totally the opposite of me. Honestly, if you were to ask me what would be my best friend like when I was about eight, I’d probably answer someone who is sweet, really prim and proper (not that I know these words when I was eight), and someone like a twin. Ask me now and I’ll totally would’ve opposed everything I said back then.

She’s not sweet. I mean not really the sweet type, she’s kind of more on the bittersweet side. She’s not always going to kiss your ass when you do something right. But at least she bakes really good chocolate cakes which make up for the bitterness she gives when she just feels like it. She’s not really the prim and proper princess-like girl, she’s more of the “one of the boys” kind of girl. ‘Cause she’d probably go for the comfy manners than those “royal” attitudes. And she’s totally not my twin. Nevertheless, she is my sister. By sister, I meant, she is the one who protects me from people who hurt me. She takes care of me every time I don’t feel good. She teaches me lessons I would’ve never understood, academic and life-wise. She tells me what’s right and wrong and always tells me the harsh truths of life. She just randomly makes me laugh when she learns a new crazy joke and try it on me. She also pretends and acts like a boyfriend who I think I will never have ’til I lie on my deathbed. She’s even the one who made a “goodbye” video for my ever epic-almost-there-relationship. And she always, ALWAYS stays by my side and never leaves me alone.

I don’t know what my life would’ve been if we never met. I don’t know who I would have been if she wasn’t there. Meeting her was probably one of the best chances I got in my life. Being her best friend, it is one of the best blessings God has ever given to me. Cheesy, I know, but it is what it is. You see, I had to throw my standards book and just let her give me the standards I need. I guess when you try to plan your life using these standards, life will just always get in the way just so you learn more than what you need. Most probably, life gets in the way to let you forget what you want and let you realize what you deserve. It’s not like you’re gonna die if your life tries to make a few twists and turns, right? Que sera, sera. It may seem to be not your cup of tea and it may go out far from your customs, but I tell you, in the end, you’ll most probably have the best-est friend you never thought you’ll have! Trust me. :)

"Let it happen on its own."

“..Sometimes in life there really are bonds formed that can never be broken. Sometimes you really can find that one person who will stand by you no matter what. Maybe you will find it in a spouse and celebrate it with your dream wedding. But there’s also the chance that the one person you can count on for a lifetime, the one person who knows you sometimes better than you know yourself is the same person who’s been standing beside you all along.” -Marion St. Claire, Bride Wars

I love you, Kristel. :) ♥

13 comments on “Unorthodox

  • You described a very sweet relationship between you two. Is good to have somebody to be near you all the time and defend you. It’s normal to have a friend that is totally opposite from you. They complete you, by doing things you can’t do and, in the same time, you do stuff they can’t. Great post! I enjoyed reading it. >:D<

  • Leave a Reply

